What would you do if you were in ‘Room’?

Jacob Tremblay & Brie Larson in ‘Room’ (2015)

Based on the novel by Emma Donoghue, who also wrote the screenplay, 2015 film Room follows the lives of Ma (Brie Larson) and her five-year-old son Jack (Jacob Tremblay). They have been held for seven years in a squalid shed, by a man they call Old Nick. They call this space ‘room’, with Jack never having been outside.

Room is a 10-by-10 foot space, with the only natural light being from a skylight. There is a bed which Ma and Jack share, a bath, toilet, wardrobe, television with bad signal and a very small kitchen.

Apart from being given the basics to live on, every Sunday they have a ‘Sunday treat’ as Ma has named it. Jack looks forward to what they will receive, whilst Ma knows they have to request items which Old Nick can get easily, and which they are really in need of.

If you were inside room, with the limited resources and space that you had, what would you do with your time?

https://suzannecamfield.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/16bdd-skylight.gif?w=466&h=191

Here are a few of my thoughts on how I would spend my time;

  • Writing. If I could request some paper and a pen, I would write about my experience, write stories and write about what I would do if I was out of room.
  • Reading. I would request as many books as possible, and likely read them repeatedly, regardless of what they were about or if I enjoyed them.
  • Yoga. I would use the small floor space to practice yoga, and to become an expert at as many poses as possible.
  • Cooking & Baking. It would be unlikely that I would get the opportunity to have a large variety of ingredients, but if I did, I would teach myself to make many different dishes and cakes.

What would you do if you were in room? What would you request to have in there? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Read my review of Room here.

About writingsuzanne

History graduate. Freelance writer and reviewer. Passionate about film, theatre and music (film soundtracks!).
This entry was posted in Film Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts? Please share.

