Desert Island DVDs

WILSON!!

If you were alone on a desert island, and you could only take five films with you, what would you choose? These would be the only films that you could watch forever more!

These would be my choices;

12 Angry Men (1957)

One of my favourites; this is a film that I would never get bored of re-watching. Perhaps if I had the option to write a screenplay whilst on the island, I would like to use 12 Angry Men as a guide to writing the perfect script.

Some Like It Hot (1959)

If I needed a cheer up, Some Like It Hot would be my comedy option. Any opportunity to watch Marilyn Monroe on the screen would please me.

Beauty and the Beast (1991)

As a childhood favourite, this would be the film to watch when I wanted to be reminded of home, and when I wanted a Disney fix. I would like to take the remake with me also (Emma Watson *love*) but if I could only choose one, I would take the 1991 original.

Moulin Rouge! (2001)

As a favourite, I couldn’t be without Moulin Rouge! on the island. The soundtrack would give me an extra boost when I wanted a music fix, and I would be walking around singing the soundtrack constantly. It would also give me a feel of everything artificial when needed.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

This is a film which has more to it each time you watch. I would never get bored of viewing, as there would always be something new revealed. Also, I love Kate Winslet, so I would need a film with her in on the island.

Honorable Mentions:

  • It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)
  • Doctor Zhivago (1965)
  • Forrest Gump (1994)
  • A Royal Affair (2012)
  • Room (2015) (Brie Larson *love*)

What would your film choices be? Let me know!

About writingsuzanne

History graduate. Freelance writer and reviewer. Passionate about film, theatre and music (film soundtracks!).
This entry was posted in Film Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Desert Island DVDs

  1. Immortal Beloved(the ending is so incredibly sad), Sweet Land (quietly, beautifully romantic), How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days (best rom-com ever), Anne of Green Gables (plucky girl) and Metropolitan (Whit Stillman writes the best dialogue though I doubt anyone talks the way his characters do).

    Like

  2. theswitz says:

    First off, how do I play these films on this desert island? There better be some solar power! That laptop battery won’t last forever, I may not even get to watch all five of my films!
    Okay, seriously though, my films would be:
    Naked Gun and Airplane — If I’m trapped on an island, I better have something to make me laugh
    The Blues Brothers — gotta have some music
    Way Way Back and Cuban Fury — personal favourite pick-me-up movies

    Honourable mentions:
    MacGyver episodes, Star Wars trilogy (original obviously) and a film on how to build a boat and escape an island….perhaps Gilligan’s Island 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bobmann447 says:

    Hmmm… interesting. There’s a good TV show in that concept.

    For awe and hope: Close Encounters of the Third Kind;
    For hoping I can fully ‘get it’ after 15,000 rewatches: Inception;
    For a good belly laugh: Rat Race (#Marmite film);
    For never tiring of it: LA Confidential;
    and for a good song and dance on my own Singing in the Rain .

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.

