A Pear

A Six Word Story.

A pear tastes like true love.

(Inspired by City of Angels, 1998)

Read the piece at readwave.com

About writingsuzanne

History graduate. Freelance writer and reviewer. Passionate about film, theatre and music (film soundtracks!).
This entry was posted in Six & Twelve Word Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Pear

  1. Paul S says:

    Wow, that’s agile and succinct use of language, hats off to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theswitz says:

    My grandparents had a pear tree in their backyard. It was a nice bit of shade in the summer, but always left surprises as we would run barefoot through the grass as children. The shock of stepping on an over-ripe, smooshy pear on the ground, or the pain of landing your foot on a rock hard one. Still, when I think of pears, I think of that tree and my grandparent’s house, and so I suppose I think of true love.
    You know, I’ve never actually eaten a pear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s very sweet – thanks for sharing. So, you never tried any of the pears from your grandparents garden? At least you have something new to try, at some point 🙂

      Like

      • theswitz says:

        Thanks for sparking the memory.
        At the time I was too short to reach the edible ones! I think my grandmother made pear jelly from the good ones. Sadly now, the tree is gone and so are they, but memories of both live on

        Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.

