BAFTA announce ‘Rising Star’ nominees

BAFTA have announced their Rising Star nominations for the upcoming EE British Academy Film Award ceremony, to take place on Sunday 16th February 2014.

The award is the only one to be voted for by the public. Previously known as the Orange Rising Star award, it is now in its ninth year and recognises new talent from the world of film and cinema. The British Academy has described the nominees as “destined to be bright stars in the future of cinema.” The award was created in honour of BAFTA-winning casting director Mary Selway after her death in 2004.

Previous winners of the Rising Star award from 2006 until 2013 have been James McAvoy, Eva Green, Shia LaBeouf, Noel Clarke, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, Adam Deacon and Juno Temple.

The five nominees for 2014 are Dane DeHaan, George MacKay, Lupita Nyong’o, Will Poulter and Léa Seydoux.

Dane DeHaan has had a busy few years, staring in Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln, opposite Ryan Gosling in The Place Beyond the Pines and opposite Daniel Radcliffe in Kill Your Darlings. In 2014, Dane will appear in The Amazing Spider-Man 2.

British actor George MacKay played the lead in 2013 musical Sunshine on Leith, and also appeared in For Those in Peril, which won him a British Academy Scotland award.

Lupita Nyong’orecently made her feature debut in Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave. Nyong’o was also honoured with the New Hollywood award and gained a place on Variety’s ‘Ten Actors to Watch’ list. As well as acting, Lupita has also written, produced and directed In My Genes, a documentary about the albino population in Kenya.

Will Poulter, the second British actor within the nominees, made his feature debut in the British comedy Son of Rambow, which earned him a nomination for Most Promising Newcomer at the 2007 British Independent Film awards. Poulter recently appeared with Jennifer Aniston in We’re the Millers and played the lead in Dexter Fletcher’s Wild Bill. This performance saw Poulter nominated for the Young British Performer of the Year award at the London Critics’ Circle Awards.

Léa Seydoux has featured in many recent critically acclaimed films, including Quentin Tarantino’s Inglourious Basterds, Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris and Ridley Scott’s Robin Hood. In 2013, Seydoux shared the Palme d’Or from the Cannes Film Festival with co-star Adele Exarchopoulos and director Abdellatif Kechicher for her film Blue is the Warmest Colour.

The winner will be announced at the ceremony on Sunday 16th February 2014.

Read the article at


About writingsuzanne

History graduate. Freelance writer and reviewer. Passionate about film, theatre and music (film soundtracks!).
This entry was posted in Film News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts? Please share.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s